Why Must All the Bright Lights Be Extinguished?

Published December 11, 2014 by FunkyWolfCafe

Random Thoughts from a Thirty-Something White Girl

I’ve battled depression since adolescence. My first bout with it was triggered when my parents divorced and I ended up moving away from everything I had ever known, with my mom, to a brand new place in the foothills of California.  I contemplated suicide numerous times and turned to cutting as a way to deal with my pain. With the help of a marriage, family, and child counselor, counselors at school, and the support of some amazing friends I had made at school, I was able to break down the walls of depression that had consumed my life. I also turned to writing, which has been a form of therapy for me. It is one of the reasons I started this blog to begin with.

Now here I am, 33, finding myself trying to fight those demons of depression again. This bout began soon after I lost my job and…

View original post 247 more words

Leave a Reply

