My Heart (may or may not go on)

Published December 13, 2014 by FunkyWolfCafe

Eli Hopkins

*(originally published in the collection Telling Lies And Disappointing People)

Yvette broke up with me soon after I sat her down and explained that I had a baboon’s heart and was incapable of experiencing strong emotion. She didn’t believe me, at first. American girls with European names tend to be distrustful, in my experience.

“It’s true,” I told her, stroking her hand dispassionately. “An actual baboon’s heart. I had an experimental operation after surviving a plane-crash. I can’t feel anything.”

Yvette’s face was expressionless.

“It’s my cross to bare,” I said, gingerly patting my chest in the place where I imagined my heart to be.

I stopped stroking Yvette’s hand to smoke my cigarette. She tried to hold my other hand but it was occupied with a tumbler of whiskey, so she held the drink with me, caressing the tumbler affectionately.

I was drinking whiskey so it must have…

View original post 328 more words

Leave a Reply

